Final Thoughts on Digital Citizenship

When I began this course on digital citizenship, I was very excited!  This is one of the topics that I am passionate about when teaching my elementary students.  I focus on cyberbullying, being good digital citizens, and begin the foundation for copyright and citations.  I did not know that there were NINE different elements that Ribble identifies for students to learn about in school.  Not only does he identify the elements in his book “Digital Citizenship in Schools: Nine Elements All Students Should Know,” he also provides a framework for implementing lessons and at what grade/age level those lessons should be taught.  Ribble breaks the nine elements into REPs (Respect, Educate, & Protect).  With each REP, there is an element of digital citizenship that can be applied.  Below is the example he illustrates in his book for starting digital citizenship in Kindergarten (Ribble, 2015, p. 16, 58).

Kindergarten – 2nd grade 3rd – 5th grade 6th – 8th grade

Respect

Digital Etiquette

Electronic code of conduct

Digital Access

Work toward providing everyone with the same opportunity to technology

Digital Law

Taking responsibility for your actions online

Educate

Digital Literacy

Teaching others and learning about technology

Digital Communication

Interacting through technology

Digital Commerce

Buying, selling, trading of products online

Protect Digital Rights & Responsibilities

Freedoms granted for everyone while online

Digital Safety (Security)

Taking precautions while online

Digital Health & Wellness

Physical and mental/emotional well-being while online

 

Completing my Master’s degree will be my biggest accomplishment in the upcoming year.  In this course, the 5-page reflection paper was my most successful feat.  But along with accomplishments come challenges.  Just like with any other Master’s level course, the hardest challenge is working a full time job and having enough time to devote to an online course.  For me, I teach full time and I work a part time job 2-3 nights a week and almost all day Sunday.  Keeping up with the large amount of reading is the biggest challenge that I face.

The activity that I liked the most was creating the presentation that showed the evolution of a chosen technology.  I chose smartphones.  I enjoyed the research and getting to see the progression and competition that went into the development of the smartphones.  It was amazing to see how far the technology had come in such a relatively short period of time.

I wouldn’t particularly change any of the activities.  I liked each one and how they related to the topic of that week.  I would make sure that I was prepared by reading the assignment document instead of just the course documents and videos.

When I think about how to connect this course to my classroom, I will be implementing the table shown above in regards to what students need to learn and when.  I was teaching some of the concepts, but overlooking most.  I will be more specific and deliberate in the future.  I want to also begin educating my fellow teachers on how to implement digital citizenship in their lives and classrooms.  I see far too many of my coworkers not modeling good digital citizenship, mostly through breaking copyright laws.

To future Digital Learners and Leaders, be ready to read, read, read!  But I guess you would expect that for a master’s course!  Also look at everything for each of the weeks before the class begins.  There is a lot of work that goes into each week’s assignment.

I can wrap up the course with three greats: great course, great content, great facilitators!

 

References:

Ribble, M. (2015). Digital citizenship in schools: Nine elements all students should know (3rd ed.). Eugene, OR: International Society for Technology in Education

Leave a Reply

