Final Thoughts on my Innovation Plan

In the first semester of the DLL program, we were tasked with creating an innovation project to implement on our campus.  I chose the 1-to-1 implementation of mobile devices in classrooms.  I knew this was not an innovative idea as far as new ideas go, but I knew it would be new to the teachers and students at my school.  Outside of the computer lab, teachers allow their students to use their classroom computers for 2 reasons: intervention, in the form of Istation for reading and Moby Max for math, and free time, which for students means game time.

That same semester our school district purchased an iPad cart for each elementary campus.  30 iPads for teachers to check out to use with their students!  This was the main reason I chose the 1-to-1 implementation as my innovation plan.  All of the posts for my original innovation plan can be found at Disruptive Innovation and Bringing About Change.

My original goal was for the iPads to be used in the classroom as a learning tool.  I wanted classroom teachers to use programs like Prezi and PowToon through the iPad as a different way to show their learning over a specific amount of time.  It was no surprise at all that the teachers used the iPads in the same manner as the classroom desktops.  At this point, I halfway gave up on the idea of any of the classroom teachers using the iPads for anything else.

However, at the beginning of this school year, our district delivered a cart of 30 ASUS tablets.  Fearing the same result as the iPads, I didn’t go into much detail when I showed the teachers how they worked at an after school staff meeting.  To my surprise, a 4th grade teacher approached me after the meeting and began asking questions.  She needed something for her 4th grade enrichment students to do during Tiger Time.  I told her that the tablets can be used for more than Istation and Moby Max.  This shocked her!  She was ready to hear more.  This was my real opportunity to start a small innovation.  And we did.  We started small.  We used a combination of the tablets and some of the computer lab computers.  Students used the Internet to research, word processing to type up and print summaries, and print pictures.  I know this isn’t high up on the SAMR model, but it’s a start.

Since I’ve found a renewed sense of inspiration in my plan, I plan on helping and assisting this 4th grade teacher and group through the end of the school year.  At the end of this school year, I’ll need to measure how successful or unsuccessful the innovation plan was.  The measurement strategy I developed at the beginning can be found here.  I’ll ask the 4th grade teacher that I inevitably teamed up with to complete a survey I created.  With some student and teacher learning, I think we can take the implementation and learning up a notch for next school year.

I’ve learned that no matter the incentive there are some teachers who are never going to change.  I can’t focus on them.  I have to focus on the teachers who want to change themselves, their classrooms, and their students.  I want to find something that will ignite a spark for technology that the teachers won’t want to extinguish!

In the future, I plan on choosing an innovation idea that is more focused.  More focus on the student learning, more focus on how to efficiently use the technology already on my campus, and more focus on preparing the teachers to use the technology in a way to enable students to learn to the best of their ability.

mobile-technology

Mobile Technology Image. (2017, February 12).  Retrieved from https://p4cdn4static.sharpschool.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_80688/Image/Departments/Instructional%20Technology/Images/Mobile-Technology.jpg

Leave a Reply

